Display Result » EV23


Green wedges are identified at the following locations:

  • Clyne Valley (including land between Upper Killay and Dunvant),
  • Cockett Valley (including Cockett and Hendrefoilan Ridges and land between Dunvant, Three Crosses and Gowerton),
  • Birchgrove (including land between Birchgrove, Glais and Tawe Valley floor),
  • Gorseinon (including land between Gorseinon, Grovesend and Penllergaer and the Estuary area around Loughor and Penyrheol),
  • Pant-Lasau (including land around Morriston and Clydach),
  • Kilvey (including land between St. Thomas and Crymlyn Bog, and around Bonymaen and Cefn Hengoed),
  • an Valley (including land between Penllergaer and Llangyfelach, Garngoch Common, and land between Gowerton, Loughor and Kingsbridge), and
  • West Cross/Newton (including land between West Cross, Newton and Bishopston).

Within these areas development will only be permitted if it maintains the openness and character of the green wedge and does not contribute to the coalescence of settlements or adversely affect the setting of the urban area. Appropriate development within the green wedge comprises the following:

  1. Justified development in association with agriculture or forestry,
  2. Essential facilities for outdoor sport and recreation or cemetery use,
  3. Limited extension, alteration or replacement of existing dwellings,
  4. Small scale farm diversification
  5. The re-use of existing permanent/substantial buildings,
  6. Affordable housing for local needs under Policy EV18
  7. Other uses of land and forms of development that maintain the openness of the green wedge and do not conflict with the purpose of including land within it.

View this result in context