8. Natural Heritage Protected Sites

Internationally Protected Sites

Ramsar sites

  1. Burry Inlet
  2. Crymlyn Bog and Pant-y-Sais

Special Areas of Conservation

  1. Gower Ash Woods
  2. Gower Commons
  3. Limestone Seacliffs of South West Wales
  4. Crymlyn Bog
  5. Carmarthen Bay Dunes

Marine Special Areas of Conservation

  1. Carmarthen Bay and Estuaries

Special Protection Areas

  1. Burry Inlet

Nationally Protected Sites

Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty

  1. Gower

Sites of Special Scientific Interest

  1. Barland Common Stream Section
  2. Berry Wood
  3. Bishop’s Wood
  4. Blackpill
  5. Bracelet Bay
  6. Burry Inlet and Loughor Estuary (part of Carmarthen Bay and Estuaries SAC, Burry Inlet SPA, Burry Inlet Ramsar)
  7. Caswell Bay
  8. Cefn Bryn Common (part of Gower Commons SAC)
  9. Crymlyn Bog (part of Crymlyn Bog SAC, Crymlyn Bog Ramsar site ,Crymlyn Bog and Pant-y-Sais NNR)
  10. Cwm Ivy Marsh and Tor (part of Carmarthen Bay and Estuaries SAC, Burry inlet SPA, Burry Inlet Ramsar)
  11. Fairwood, Pengwern & Welshmoor Commons (part of Gower Commons SAC)
  12. Glais Moraine
  13. Gower Coast: Rhossili to Port Eynon (part of Gower Coast NNR and Limestone Coast of South West Wales SAC)
  14. Graig Fawr
  15. Horton, Eastern and Western Slade
  16. Ilston Quarry
  17. Langland Bay (Rotherslade)
  18. Mitchin Hole
  19. Nicholaston Woods (part of Gower Ash Woods SAC and Oxwich NNR)
  20. Oxwich Bay (part of Oxwich NNR, part in Gower Ash Woods SAC and part in Limestone Coast of South West Wales SAC)
  21. Oystermouth Old Quarry
  22. Parkmill Woodlands and Llethrid Valley (part of Gower Ash Woods)
  23. Penllergaer Railway Cutting
  24. Pennard Valley (part in Gower Ash Woods SAC)
  25. Penplas Grasslands
  26. Penrice Stables and Underhill Cottage
  27. Pwll Du Head and Bishopston Valley (part in Limestone Coast of South West Wales and part in Gower Ash Woods SAC)
  28. Rhossili Down (part of Gower Commons SAC)
  29. Sluxton Marsh and Whitemoor (part of Gower Commons SAC)
  30. Whiteford Burrows, Landimore Marsh and Broughton Bay (part of Whiteford NNR, Carmarthen Bay and Estuaries SAC and Carmarthen Bay Dunes SAC, Burry Inlet SPA, Burry Inlet Ramsar site)
  31. Rose Cottage
  32. Courthouse Grasslands (part of Gower Commons SAC)
  33. Nant-y-Crimp

National Nature Reserves

  1. Oxwich
  2. Gower Coast
  3. Whiteford
  4. Crymlyn Bog and Pant Y Sais

Locally Protected Sites

Local Nature Reserves

  1. Bishops Wood
  2. Cwmllyd Wood
  3. Killay Marsh
  4. Mumbles Hill
  5. Pwll Du Cliffs
  6. Cadle Heath

Country Park

  1. Clyne Valley

Heritage Coast

  1. Gower - Mumbles to Penclawdd

Managed Reserves

South and West Wales Wildlife Trust Reserves (NB. some reserves are split site)

  1. Berry Wood (Knelston) (SS474884)
  2. Bolgoed Quarry (SN 603027)
  3. Broad Pool & Bog (Cilibion) (SS510910)
  4. Cwm Ivy (SS443939)
  5. Betty Church (SS440937)
  6. Gelli Hir Wood (Fairwood Common) (SS562925)
  7. Ilston Quarry (Ilston) (SS555905)
  8. Hambury Wood (Landimore) (SS472929)
  9. Killay Marsh (Killay) (SS593929)
  10. Kilvrough Manor Wood (Parkmill) (SS555892)
  11. Llanrhidian Hill (Llanrhidian) (SS495922)
  12. Lucas Reserve (SS447933)
  13. Peel Wood (Oystermouth) (SS607883)
  14. Priors Wood & Meadow (Three Crosses) (SS577938)
  15. Redden Hill (SS538894)
  16. Redley Cliff (Caswell Bay) (SS589875)
  17. -  23. South Gower Coastal Reserves (SS4585) Sedger's Bank (shoreline habitat) Port Eynon Point & Overton Mere, Overton Cliff and Long Hole Cliff (limestone grassland/ heath) Deborah's Hole (separated from the other reserves by 2km of coastline).

RSPB Reserves

  1. Cwm Clydach (SN685059)

Woodland Trust Reserve

  1. Common Wood (SS507925)

« Back to contents page | Back to top